The Flower Kings: By Royal Decree-2022.

The Flower Kings:Proggressive Rock from Sweden.

Swedish progressive rock band. Formed in 1993 by veteran guitarist Roine Stolt as a touring band to support his solo album The Flower King, the band stayed together after the tour and has gone on to become one of the most prolific studio recording units in rock music of their era. In ten years it has released nearly 18 hours of music. The Flower Kings have seen frequent personnel changes. The original line-up for Stolt’s solo album consisted of Stolt (vocals, electric guitar, bass, keyboards), Jamie Salazar (drums), and Hasse Fröberg (vocals). When the full band was formed, they added Michael Stolt (bass) and Tomas Bodin (keyboards). Michael Stolt and Salazar have both left the band since its formation, replaced by Jonas Reingold (bass) and Zoltan Csörsz (drums). Other contributors have included Hasse Bruniusson (percussion), Ulf Wallander (saxophone) and Daniel Gildenlöw of Pain of Salvation (vocals, guitar, keyboards and percussion). Zoltan Csörsz has recently been replaced by new drummer Marcus Liliequist. Marcus Liliequist is a studio/touring drummer and also left the band after the “Paradox Hotel” album/tour. Daniel Gildenlöw recently left due to personal issues. The newest members of The Flower Kings crew include Erik Hammarstrom (Drums) and Ola Heden (Keyboards, guitar, backup vocals). This is as recent as 2008. Roine Stolt has written the vast majority of the material the band has recorded, with Tomas Bodin contributing most of the rest. The music is perhaps best described as “symphonic,” bearing a strong resemblance in many instances to that of Yes, and yet there are also hints of strong influence from the jazz fusion genre. The band’s lyrics are almost uniformly positive, affirming such values as love, peace, and spirituality.

TitleAlbum detailsPeak chart positions

Back in the World of AdventuresReleased: September 1995Label: FoxtrotFormats: CDLP
RetropolisReleased: May 25, 1996Label: FoxtrotFormats: CD
Stardust We AreReleased: April 1997Label: FoxtrotFormats: CD, LP
Flower PowerReleased: November 16, 1999Label: Foxtrot, Inside Out MusicFormats: CD
Space RevolverReleased: July 4, 2000Label: Inside Out MusicFormats: CD
The RainmakerReleased: September 18, 2001Label: Inside Out MusicFormats: CD
Unfold the FutureReleased: November 5, 2002Label: Inside Out MusicFormats: CD, LP
Adam & EveReleased: August 3, 2004Label: Inside Out MusicFormats: CD
Paradox HotelReleased: April 4, 2006Label: Inside Out MusicFormats: CD
The Sum of No EvilReleased: September 25, 2007Label: Inside Out MusicFormats: CD
Banks of EdenReleased: June 18, 2012Label: Inside Out MusicFormats: CD, LP, DD27686419245
Desolation RoseReleased: October 28, 2013Label: Inside Out MusicFormats: CD, LP, DD92539118735
Waiting for MiraclesReleased: November 8, 2019Label: Inside Out MusicFormats: CD, LP, DD598467
IslandsReleased: October 30, 2020Label: Inside Out MusicFormats: CD, LP, DD4810992
By Royal DecreeReleased: March 4, 2022Label: Inside Out MusicFormats: CD, LP, DD


Line-up / Musicians

– Roine Stolt / vocals, electric & acoustic 6- & 12-string guitars, ukulele, Portuguese 12-string guitar, nylon guitar, additional keyboards, orchestration
– Hasse Fröberg / vocals, 12-string acoustic guitar
– Zach Kamins / organ, pianos, synths, orchestration
– Michael Stolt / bass, Moog Taurus, backing vocals
– Jonas Reingold / fretted & fretless basses
– Mirkko DeMaio / drums & percussion, additional orchestration
– Hasse Bruniusson / acoustic & electronic percussion

– Jonas Lindberg / bass
– Rob Townsend / saxophones
– Aliaksandr Yasinski / accordion
– Jannica Lund / backing vocals

Live albums

Official bootlegs

Fan Club albums

  • Fan Club 2000 (2000)
  • Fan Club 2002 (2002)
  • Fan Club 2004 (2004)
  • Fan Club 2005 / Harvest (2005)


Box sets

  • A Kingdom of Colours: The Complete Collection From 1995 to 2002 (2017)
  • A Kingdom of Colours II: The Complete Collection From 2004 to 2013 (2018)

One thought on “The Flower Kings: By Royal Decree-2022.

  1. The Swedish band led by singer, guitarist and composer Roine Stolt, The Flower Kings, will release their new album, entitled “By Royal Decree”, on March 4, 2022 with the label InsideOut Music.

    The group’s fifteenth studio title has the particularity that founding bassist Michael Stolt returned to its ranks -despite the fact that long-time bassist Jonas Reingold continues to appear in the official photo of the label-, who was they add Mirko DeMaio on drums, Zach Kamins on keyboards, Hasse Fröberg on vocals and guitar and the aforementioned Roine Stolt on vocals and guitar.

    “It’s great to reconnect with my brother as a bass player. Yes, we’re brothers in a family sense, but we’re also ‘brothers’ on our teenage journey as we explore artists like Yes, Genesis, Frank Zappa, King Crimson, Weather Report, etc., so the reference points are obvious. ”, noted Roine Stolt. “We both know each other’s musical path very well, which means we also know where we’re going”

    According to information from InsideOut, “the band met in mid-2021 at Fenix ​​Studios in Sweden to record on the all-analog Rupert Neve mixer. The album also features a beautiful cover art, once again created by artist Kevin Sloan, which you can check out below.

    At the same time, the group announced a series of dates in Sweden for March 2022 in which they will return to play songs from their early years, which appeared on albums such as “Retropolis”, “Stardust We Are”, “Flower Power”, “Space Revolver” and “Back In The World Of Adventures”. This is in promotion of the release of newly remastered editions of The Flower Kings albums on CD and vinyl in late 2022.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s