Tremonti: Marching In Time-2021.

Tremonti is an American heavy metal band founded and fronted by lead vocalist and guitarist Mark Tremonti, best known as the lead guitarist of rock bands Creed and Alter Bridge. The band also consists of rhythm guitarist Eric Friedman, bassist Tanner Keegan and drummer Ryan Bennett. Bassist Wolfgang Van Halen and drummer Garrett Whitlock are former members of the band. Mark Tremonti’s Creed and Alter Bridge bandmate Brian Marshall was also a touring member in 2012.

What originally started as a Mark Tremonti solo project evolved into a fully fledged band that has released five studio albums: All I Was in July 2012, Cauterize in June 2015, Dust in April 2016, A Dying Machine in June 2018 and Marching in Time in September 2021. The band’s music is a departure from Mark Tremonti’s main bands, featuring more of a speed metal influence with melodic vocals.

Tremonti began expressing interest in releasing a solo album in 2010. “The bands are so different,” he said of his two current main projects. “And I write so much. I’m going to do a solo record because there are some songs that I’d hate to think wouldn’t see the light of day because they don’t work for Creed or Alter Bridge.”[This quote needs a citation] He is playing guitar and singing lead on all of the songs himself, and former Submersed members Eric Friedman and Garrett Whitlock perform on the record as well. Tremonti described the music as “melody driven,” and in a May 2011 interview, Tremonti said that it would be a “heavier-sounding” thrash metal album. He later said that the album is “probably heavier than either Creed or Alter Bridge,” and that it would have “lots of soloing.”[This quote needs a citation]

Tremonti’s first album, All I Was was released on July 17, 2012 under the label FRET12 Records. “You Waste Your Time” was released as the first single from the album. One day after its release, the song reached number 10 on the iTunes Rock Songs Chart, and Tremonti’s live music video for it premiered on May 17, 2012, on Noisecreep.

The band originally consisted of Friedman and Whitlock alongside Alter Bridge and Creed bassist Brian Marshall playing bass guitar as a touring musician. The band performed its first solo concert at The Social in Orlando, Florida, on July 17, 2012, with the performance filmed for a future video release. Wolfgang Van Halen replaced Brian Marshall as a touring bassist in September 2012.

In 2013 Mark Tremonti regrouped with Alter Bridge to record the album Fortress. After a tour, in 2014, Tremonti began recording their second album with Wolfgang Van Halen playing bass. On March 3, 2015, Tremonti released a sample of the song “Radical Change” whilst revealing the album title Cauterize and the track listing for their second album. On Tuesday, March 17, 2015, Tremonti released another song preview for the track “Flying Monkeys” and also gave a concrete release date of June 9, 2015 for Cauterize. On March 20, 2015, Tremonti unveiled via Twitter that the first single, titled “Another Heart”, would be released Tuesday, March 24, 2015. On March 23, 2015, the single Another Heart was made available for streaming via FRET12. On March 27, 2015, the artwork for Cauterize was revealed, and it was revealed that it will be the first of two albums to be released as the two albums were recorded together. The second single off the new album, titled “Flying Monkeys”, was released in the US on May 15, 2015.

The band’s third album titled Dust was released on April 29, 2016. The album was recorded at the same time as their previous album, and Tremonti said he “wanted to make sure both albums flowed dynamically. If there were two slow moody songs, [he]’d put one on each album, same thing if there were two really heavy aggressive songs, [he] would split them up evenly. There’s isn’t a specific theme to one or the other. Each record is mixed”[2] and that “it’s definitely not the ‘b-sides’ of this album”.[3]

Mark Tremonti, in February, announced the band’s fourth studio album A Dying Machine to be released on June 8, 2018 through Napalm Records. The album is produced by Michael Baskette, who produced all the band’s previous albums and the last four Alter Bridge records as well. The listening party and performance event for A Dying Machine were both held on May 12. Tremonti supported Iron Maiden on their European tour in June 2018.[4] In late 2018, drummer Garrett Whitlock didn’t tour with the band due to a necessary leave of absence for undisclosed personal reasons. Ryan Bennett, a longtime friend of guitarist Eric Friedman, filled in on drums when the tour kicked off in Philadelphia on September 15.[5] It was later confirmed that Bennett would be a permanent replacement for Whitlock.[6] After the band’s tour with Sevendust in April, Tremonti said he will go back recording new Alter Bridge record set for October 2019, while interminently tour with his band: “We’re gonna go into studio in March and April. And then after that, I go back on tour with Tremonti and then go back on tour with Alter Bridge this winter.”[7]

On July 8, 2021, Mark Tremonti announced that the band would be releasing their fifth studio album, Marching in Time, on September 24, 2021.[8] On July 22 they released the first single from the upcoming album, entitled “If Not for You”.[9]


Studio albums

Current membersEric Friedman – rhythm and lead guitar, backing vocals, keyboards (2011–present); bass guitar (2012; 2017–2018)Mark Tremonti – lead and rhythm guitar, lead vocals (2011–present)Ryan Bennett – drums, percussion (2018–present)Tanner Keegan – bass guitar, backing vocals (2021–present; touring 2015–2019)Former membersWolfgang Van Halen – bass guitar, backing vocals (2012–2016)Garrett Whitlock – drums, percussion (2011–2018)Touring musiciansBrian Marshall – bass guitar (2012)
  1. A World Away
  2. Now and Forever
  3. If Not for You
  4. Thrown Further
  5. Let That Be Us
  6. The Last One of Us
  7. In One Piece
  8. Under the Sun
  9. Not Afraid to Lose
  10. Bleak
  11. Would You Kill
  12. Marching in Time

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s