Insomnium: Argent Moon-2021.

Insomnium is a Finnish melodic death metal band from Joensuu, Finland. The sound and lyrical themes of their music portray darkness, sorrow, loss, pain, and nature. They are primarily a melodic death metal band with occasional elements of doom metal and progressive metal.

On 9 September 2011 Insomnium released the music video “Through the Shadows” from their 2011 album, One for Sorrow.[1]

In November, 2011 Insomnium embarked on their first headlining European tour with support from Before the Dawn and MyGRAIN.[2] During April, 2012 Insomnium returned to tour the U.K. as the main support act for British gothic metal band, Paradise Lost. Vreid was also present on the tour as a supporting opening act.

On 19 September 2013 Insomnium released “Ephemeral,” a single from their foreshadowed 2014 album, Shadows of the Dying Sun, via Century Media Records. It is the first track to feature new guitarist, Markus Vanhala (Omnium Gatherum), who replaced Ville Vänni in 2011.[3]

On 29 April 2014 Insomnium released their sixth studio album, Shadows of the Dying Sun. On 30 April 2014 they made a guest appearance on Epica’s CD release show at 013 in the Netherlands.

On 19 May 2016, Insomnium announced their seventh studio album, Winter’s Gate to be released on 23 September. It is a concept album consisting of a single epic 40-minute track, and it is said to be about “a group of Vikings who set out to find a fabled island west of Ireland, despite the treacherous winter drawing near.”[4] This album was based on the short story by Niilo, “Winter’s Gate”, or “Talven Portti” in the original Finnish. This story won or was nominated for many Finnish awards.[5]

In 2019, they announced their eighth album, Heart Like a Grave, would be released on 4 October 2019. With the album announcement they also confirmed that the guitarist Jani Liimatainen had joined the band as a full-time member, as he had occasionally filled in for Ville Friman on tours since 2015.[6]

Insomnium will release a new EP, titled Argent Moon, on September 17, 2021.[7] The band also plans to release their ninth studio album in 2022.[8]


Demo 1999Demo1999 
Underneath the Moonlit WavesDemo2000
Candlelight Collection Vol 5Split2002 
In the Halls of AwaitingFull-length2002
Since the Day It All Came DownFull-length2004
Above the Weeping WorldFull-length2006
Where the Last Wave BrokeEP2009 
Across the DarkFull-length2009
Weather the StormSingle2011
One for SorrowFull-length2011
While We SleepSingle2014 
Shadows of the Dying SunFull-length2014
The Candlelight YearsBoxed set2014 
Out to the Sea / SkylineSplit2015 
Winter’s GateFull-length2016
Heart like a GraveFull-length2019
The ConjurerSingle2021
The ReticentSingle2021 
The AntagonistSingle2021 
Argent MoonEP2021
Niilo Sevänen
Bass, Vocals (1997-present)
See also: ex-Watch Me Fall
Markus Hirvonen
Drums (1997-present)
Ville Friman
Guitars (1997-present), Vocals (clean) (2011-present)
See also: ex-Enter My Silence, ex-Arrival
Markus Vanhala
Guitars (2011-present)
See also: I Am the NightMalpracticeOmnium Gatherum, ex-Gore Penetration, ex-Manitou, ex-Diablo (live), ex-Pressure Points (live), ex-Seer of Curses
Jani Liimatainen
Guitars, Vocals (clean) (2019-present)
See also: Cain’s OfferingThe Dark ElementOmnium Gatherum (live), ex-Graveyard Shift, ex-Tricky Means, Kotipelto & Liimatainen, Sydänpuu, ex-Altaria, ex-Sonata Arctica, ex-Paul Di’Anno (live), ex-Dream Asylum

Past Members:

Tapani PesonenDrums (1997), Guitars (1997-1998)
Timo PartanenGuitars (1998-2001)
Ville VänniGuitars (2001-2011)
See also: ex-Watch Me Fall, ex-Hateform
1.The Conjurer07:25  Show lyrics
2.The Reticent04:32  Show lyrics
3.The Antagonist05:03  Show lyrics
4.The Wanderer06:11  Show lyrics

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s