Scanner: Hyper Trace-80’s-1988.

Scanner is a German power metal band that was formed in 1986. Three of the band members had previously taken part in an album release by the band Lions Breed, Damn The Night (Earthshaker 1985).[1] The band changed its name to Scanner, adopting a science fiction image for their lyrics, album covers and live performances.[2] They released their first album, Hypertrace, in 1988 through Noise Records.[2] They have reformed twice, releasing their latest album on January 23, 2015, The Judgement (Massacre Records).[3]


Round Trip / Across the UniverseSplit1988 
Terminal EarthFull-length1989
Conception of a CureDemo1994 
Mental ReservationFull-length1995
Ball of the DamnedFull-length1996
The JudgementFull-length2015
The JudgementSingle2015 
The Galactos TapesCompilation2017
Axel “A.J.” Julius
Guitars (1986-present)
See also: ex-Lions Breed, ex-Reinforce
Efthimios Ioannidis
Vocals (2003-present)
See also: ex-Levamnon
Jörn Bettentrup
Bass (2017-present)
Boris Frenkel
Drums (2018-present)
See also: ex-Dawn of Destiny, ex-Reflection, ex-Tauron
Stefan Weber
Guitars (2019-present)
See also: RageRebatteredRegicide, ex-Axxis

Past Members:

Martin BorkBass (1986-1990)
See also: ex-Lions Breed, ex-X-Mas Project, ex-Reinforce
Wolfgang KolorzDrums (1986-1990)
Thomas SophaGuitars (1986-1990)
See also: ex-Lions Breed, ex-Reinforce
Michael “M.A.J.O.R.” KnoblichVocals (1986-1988)
See also: ex-Jack of Hearts, ex-Jester’s March
S.L. CoeVocals (1989-1993)
See also: ex-Dancin’ Dead, ex-Thunderbolt, ex-C.O.E, ex-Angel Dust, ex-Reactor
Gregor SkopalBass (1990-1995)
See also: ex-Charan
Haridon LeeVocals (1994-1997)
See also: Duke, ex-Crows, Non Iron, ex-Mekong Delta, ex-Wolf Spider
John A.B.C. SmithBass (1995-1997)
See also: Frank BlackfireGod’s Army, ex-Gallows Pole, ex-John A.B.C. Smith, ex-At Vance, ex-Hallowed
D.D. BuccoDrums (1995-1997)
Stefan NicolaiGuitars (1996-1997)
Stephan BraunKeyboards (1996-1997)
Marc SimonBass (1997-2003)
Thilo ZaunGuitars (1997-2006)
Johannes BrunnKeyboards (2000-2005)
Jan ZimmerDrums (2002-2003)
Lisa CroftVocals (2002-2003)
Stephan JacobsBass (2003-2004)
See also: ex-Teaser
Franz EichbergerDrums (2003-2005, 2011-2013)
Kayuri NiwaBass (2004-2006)
See also: Adligate, ex-Requiem
Florian HaackGuitars (2006-2007)
See also: ex-Exotoxis, ex-Andra
Torben BöhmBass (2007-2008)
Andreas ZeidlerGuitars (2008-2019)
See also: ex-Levamnon
Oliver EmanowskiBass (2009-2012)
See also: Sankt Velten, ex-SP, ex-Eure Erben, ex-Darkness
Matt BauerDrums (2009-2010)
See also: DracyorJavelin, ex-Entophyte, ex-Zodiac, ex-Dorian Gray, ex-Exurist, Mayze, The Witches’ Dream, Wildheart, ex-Dawn of Destiny, ex-Everflow, ex-Jitterbug
Patrick KloseDrums (2010-2011, 2013-2015)
See also: Cold RevengeIron Savior, Bright Guardians, ex-Dawn of Destiny, ex-Elmsfire
Jonathan SellBass (2012-2015)
See also: ex-Incubus Dreams
William ChapmanBass (2015-2017)
Hanno KerstanDrums (2015-2017)
See also: Mystic Prophecy
Patrick “Ted” DonathGuitars (2019)
See also: ex-Artcrime, ex-Cohagen, Wicked Disciple, ex-Black Messiah, ex-Greydon Fields

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s