Skyfire: Mind Revolution-2003.

Skyfire is a Swedish melodic death metal band, from Höör, Sweden.

Skyfire was formed in the town of HöörSweden in 1995 by Andreas Edlund (guitar), Martin Hanner (bass guitar), Jonas Sjögren (guitar) and Tobias Björk (drums). The four were friends since high school and had similar tastes in music. The band recorded two demosWithin Reach and The Final Story. On the second demo, the vocals were performed by Henrik Wenngren. Skyfire got in touch with band members of Thyrfing who helped them find a record label with Dutch label Hammerheart Records. During two weeks in August 2000, Skyfire recorded their debut album Timeless Departure in the Abyss Studio.

In September 2002, the band recorded their second album Mind Revolution, again in the Abyss Studio with new drummer Joakim Jonsson. Mind Revolution was released in 2003 and showed the band’s style evolving and branching off into different musical genres. The third album Spectral was recorded at Los Angered and Studio Underground and released on May 10, 2004, by Arise Records.

The vocalist Henrik Wenngren left the band and was replaced by Joakim Karlsson.[1]

On January 7, 2008, Skyfire announced on their official MySpace page that they had signed with a Florida-based label, Pivotal Rockordings, for a three-album deal, and the band entered the recording studio to begin recording their fourth untitled album. Mixing was done by Scar Symmetry‘s Jonas Kjellgren at Black Lounge Studios.

On May 15, 2009, Skyfire announced a digital only EP entitled Fractal for a July 2009 release. The EP is a collection of B-sides recorded between 2004’s Spectral and EsotericFractal was released July 6 for digital download.[2]

Skyfire’s fourth album is titled Esoteric, and it was released on September 14, 2009 in the United Kingdom via Pivotal Rockordings.[3] The album was released on September 18, 2009 in the rest of Europe, and in North America on October 13, 2009, due to a scheduling issue.[4] The cover art was created by Pär Olofsson, who also made covers for Brain DrillPsycropticSpawn of PossessionPersuader and others.[5]

On July 4, 2017, the band launched a PledgeMusic campaign to fund their newest EP “Liberation in Death.” The campaign was successful, raising the full amount needed in under eight hours.[6]


Within ReachDemo1998
The Final StoryDemo2000
Timeless DepartureFull-length2001
Haunted by ShadowsEP2003
Mind RevolutionFull-length2003
Promo 2012Single2012
Liberation in DeathEP2017
Martin Hanner
Guitars (1995-2004), Keyboards (1995-present), Bass (2005-present)
See also: ex-Chaos Feeds Life, Rapstars
Joakim Jonsson
Drums, Guitars (2001-present)
See also: AxenstarFavillaAutumn Dweller, ex-Mornaland, ex-Skinfected, ex-Assailant, ex-Dust, ex-Ecliptica, Grand Design, ex-The Mist of Avalon, ex-Dreadstate, ex-Gangjärn, ex-Kobolders, ex-Skyrunner, ex-Slumber, ex-Vortex
Johan Reinholdz
Guitars (2005-present)
See also: AndromedaDark TranquillityNonexistFaithful Darkness (live), ex-Opus Atlantica, ex-Widow, Kontinuum (Swe), Murdered Beats, ex-Bullhead
Joakim Karlsson
Vocals (2007-present)
See also: Still I Wither, ex-Elohim, ex-Mark:Black, ex-Pagan (Swe)

Past Members:

Jonas SjögrenBass (1995-2005)
See also: Backhander
Tobias BjörkDrums (1995-2001)
See also: ex-Chaos Feeds Life
Andreas EdlundGuitars, Keyboards (1995-2015)
See also: Backhander, ex-Chaos Feeds Life
Henrik WenngrenVocals (1998-2007)
See also: Favilla, ex-Mornaland, ex-Dust, ex-Bleeding Utopia, ex-Zavorash (live), ex-Vicious, ex-Sibliance

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s