Chaos Over Cosmos: The Unknown Voyage-2018.

Chaos Over Cosmos are a progressive metal online collaborative project originally created by Rafal Bowman and Javier Calderón. Two musicians who had never met each other and decided that being countries apart couldn’t stop them from making music together. Since the release of the debut album ‘The Unknown Voyage’ in September 2018 and its re-release with 2 new tracks in April 2019, Javier decided to leave Chaos Over Cosmos. Rafal asked Australian vocalist, Joshua Ratcliff, to join Chaos Over Cosmos, after hearing Joshua on his bands, Resurgence, debut album ‘Voices’. Rafal loved the lyrical content and Joshua’s aggressive hard rock/metal vocal style on ‘Voices’ and thought that his vocal and lyrical style would make a perfect mix for the next wave of Chaos Over Cosmos. Chaos Over Cosmos EP is the second release by Chaos Over Cosmos and even though this EP is three tracks long. It has been receiving high praise from a variety of reviewers, radio stations and fans. Chaos Over Cosmos EP is about finding oneself and reflection, while featuring an instrumental track inspired by the works of one of the biggest sci-fi writers, Isaac Asimov. Chaos Over Cosmos is Joshua Ratcliff -vocal, lyrics, song writing. Rafal Bowman -guitars, synths, programming, songwriting.

Opener ‘Cascading Darkness’ is the full rollercoaster ride and musically top class. This is very well produced and extremely technical. I was a bit at odds with the vocals to begin with but once the two vocal styles were mixed together the whole track suddenly came together. ‘Consumed’ is a complete face melter. Cracking riffs, banging solos and again an excellent vocal. There is a lot to take in and I’m just wondering how such epic tracks would come across live with two people only but that’s just being a bit picky. Final track ‘Asimov’ is the shortest on offer and based on what has gone before, has a very sedate start. And quite beautiful it is to. As instrumentals go this is up there with the best of them. Very much looking forward to what comes next.

Rafał Bowman
Guitars, Keyboards, Programming (2015-present)
Joshua Ratcliff
Vocals (2019-present)
See also: ex-Born of Chaos, ex-ReSurgence


The Unknown VoyageFull-length2018
Chaos over CosmosEP2019
The Ultimate MultiverseFull-length2020
The Silver Lining Between the StarsFull-length2021 

Past Members:

Javier CalderonVocals (2018-2019)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s