Mindless Sinner: Poltergeist-2020.

Mindless Sinner is a Swedish hard rock band from the district Ryd in Linköping . They were formed in 1981 .

The first ensemble was Christer Göransson (vocals), Magnus Danneblad (guitar), Anders Karlsson (guitar), Magnus van Wassenaar (bass) and Tommy Viktorsson (then Johansson, drums). They were now called Purple Haze . However, the name was quickly changed to Genocide , which is taken from a song by Judas Priest .

Mindless Sinner later debuted in 1981, joining Axewitch , another hard rock band that had begun to make a big name for themselves in the music world. They played and became even more popular in Linköping. The song material was also improved. Magnus van Wassenaar left the band in 1982 . Instead of bringing in a new bassist, Anders Karlsson switched from guitar to bass and now they were only four. It was in connection with that that the band changed its name to Mindless Sinner.

In January 1983 , Mindless Sinner participated in a band competition and reached the final, where they were eliminated. In May 1983, guitarist Jerker Edman joined the band and the next band competition, which was in June of the same year, they won. The prize money went so far that they could make the record they had wanted to make for so long. They recorded their debut EP ” Master Of Evil ” at the end of 1983. It was released in January 1984 . The people liked the EP, but somehow the band pressure had gone wrong. So instead of Mindless Sinner it was Mindless Sinners.

They toured and they had booked time in the studio in October 1984 to record a new record. But just two weeks before the first day of filming, Anders Karlsson had an accident and cut his hand open. The injury was so bad that he could not play for a very long time. He has never returned to the band again.

Instead of bringing in a new bassist, Christer Göransson played bass on the entire “Turn On The Power” album. When they started mixing the album, they found their new bassist named Christer Carlson . On the back of the album it says that he plays bass, but the only thing he contributes is “the horror voice” on the song “Voice Of The Doomed” .

In 1987 , the name was changed to just Mindless and they also started recording new songs. That material was released on the album “Missin ‘Pieces” in 1989 . They spent most of the time touring around, but in 1990 Tommy could not take it anymore and the band played their farewell show in Stockholm , December 1990.

The rest of the group continued to play with Axewitch’s drummer Mats Johansson , but under the name Skinny Horse . They only made one record called No Pain No Gain in 1993 . After that, Christer Göransson and Magnus Danneblad have done various other things together, including the punk bands Fluff and Everlone .


On the third of November 2001 , Mindless Sinner played its reunion concert. That was the setting before Tommy dropped out. The game continued and on February 16, 2002 , they played at the Motala Metal Festival , together with, among others, Iced Earth and Blitzkrieg . They then recorded the entire concert, which consisted of ten songs and then spread them out on the released new versions on CD .

Mindless Sinner split again sometime in 2004 .

Second reunion

On December 18, 2013, it became official that Mindless Sinner will be reunited to play at the Muskelrock festival near Alvesta in Småland . After the show, several gigs began, including in Spain and Germany. On July 17, 2015, it was announced that Mindless Sinner’s new album, ” The New Messiah “, would be released on October 16, 2015 through Pure Steel Records.

After the new album was released, the band continued with various gigs, both in their hometown Linköping as well as in Greece, France, England and the USA.

On January 17, 2020, their latest album ” Poltergeist ” was released, also via Pure Steel Records.


Master of EvilEP1983
Turn On the PowerFull-length1986
Missin’ PiecesFull-length1989 
Heaven Will KnowSingle1989 
Men of SteelSingle2015 
The New MessiahFull-length2015 
Keeping It TrueLive album2018 
Rewind the FutureSingle2019 


Tommy JohanssonDrums (1982-1990, 2001-2004, 2014-present)
See also: ex-Everlone, ex-Fluff, ex-Genocide, ex-Purple Haze
Magnus DannebladGuitars (1982-1990, 2001-2004, 2014-present)
See also: ex-Everlone, ex-Fluff, ex-Purple Haze, ex-Skinny Horse
Christer GöranssonVocals (1982-1990, 2001-2004, 2014-present)
See also: ex-Powerdise, ex-Demental, ex-Everlone, ex-Fluff, ex-Genocide, ex-Skinny Horse
Jerker EdmanGuitars (1983-1990, 2001-2004, 2014-present)
See also: ex-Skinny Horse, ex-W.E.T
Christer CarlsonBass (1984-1990, 2001-2004, 2014-present)
See also: ex-Skinny Horse

Past Members:

Magnus van WassenaarBass (1982)
See also: ex-Genocide, ex-Purple Haze
Anders KarlssonGuitars (1982-1983), Bass (1983-1984)
See also: ex-Genocide, ex-Purple Haze

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s