At The Gates: The Paradox-2021.

Jonas Björler
Bass (1990-1992, 1992-1996, 2007-2008, 2010-present)
See also: The Haunted, ex-Infestation, ex-Terror, ex-Demolition
Adrian Erlandsson
Drums (1990-1996, 2007-2008, 2010-present)
See also: The HauntedThe Lurking Fear, ex-H.E.A.L., ex-Needleye, ex-Terror, Nemhain, ex-Brujeria, ex-Cradle of Filth, ex-Netherbird, ex-Nifelheim, ex-Paradise Lost, ex-Riket, ex-Samsas Traum, ex-12 Ton Method, ex-Decameron, ex-Tenet, ex-Vallenfyre, ex-Hyperhug, ex-Penance (Swe), ex-Skitsystem, ex-Deathstars (live)
Tomas Lindberg
Vocals (1990-1996, 2007-2008, 2010-present)
See also: Lock UpSign of CainThe Lurking Fear, ex-Grotesque, ex-Infestation, Ben-Hur, Disfear, The Great Deceiver, ex-Nightrage, ex-The Crown, ex-Necronaut (live), ex-Liers in Wait, ex-Sacrilege (live), ex-Conquest, ex-Hide, ex-Skitsystem, ex-Snotrocket, ex-World Without End
Martin Larsson
Guitars (1993-1996, 2007-2008, 2010-present)
See also: Agrimonia, ex-House of Usher, ex-Macrodex, Skitsystem, ex-Bombs of Hades
Jonas Stålhammar
Guitars (2017-present)
See also: Bombs of HadesGod MacabreThe Lurking Fear, ex-Darkcreed, ex-Utumno, ex-Carnal Redemption, ex-Macabre End, Electric Hydra, Venus Principle, ex-The Crown, ex-Dead Awaken (live), ex-Abhoth, ex-Crippled Black Phoenix, ex-Morbid Salvation Army, ex-Purulence, ex-Space Probe Taurus, ex-The Colombos

Swedish melodic death metal pioneers, At The Gates, are debuting the second single/video off their upcoming album, The Nightmare Of Being, to be released July 2 via Century Media Records. “The Paradox” video was directed by Patric Ullaeus, and can be seen below.

Vocalist Tomas Lindberg Redant commented about “The Paradox” and its video as follows: “Humanity is the biggest paradox. We as humans always want justification for the big things: death, the meaning of life, etc. Our knowledge of being mortals drives us away from being human, hence the paradox. We invent defense mechanisms to protect us from the thought of death, religion, different –isms, etc.

“This first time our producer Jens Bogren heard this song, he said “This is a monster!”. It touches on some core parts of the At The Gates sound, but builds further, on top of that, some classic NWOBHM/Mercyful Fate vibes thrown in for good measure. It is a death metal song, but has its progressive moments. Enjoy!

This was a very fun video to record, as we tried to create most of the “special effects” in an analog way, and not just to be added in the editing. Hence we were drenched in tons of crushed coal and soil, which took over a week and a lot of showers to get out of our hair, haha. We really wanted an oppressive, apocalyptic emotion for this video. And Patric Ullaeus, being the master that he is, went all the way to make that happen!”

The Nightmare Of Being tracklisting:

“Spectre Of Extinction”
“The Paradox”
“The Nightmare Of Being”
“Garden Of Cyrus”
“Touched By The White Hands Of Death”
“The Fall Into Time”
“Cult Of Salvation”
“The Abstract Enthroned”
“Cosmic Pessimism”
“Eternal Winter Of Reason”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s