Paradox: Electrify-2008.

Paradox is a German power/thrash metal band formed in 1986.[1]

The group was formed in Würzburg, Germany, in 1986 by two young musicians, Charly Steinhauer and Axel Blaha. Both of them were founding members of German cover bands of Overkill, Venom and Warhead since 1981. In February 1986, Markus Spyth joined on guitar and Roland Stahl on bass.

In July 1986, the band recorded a demo, drawing the attention of Roadrunner Records who went on to produce their first two albums. In 1987, their second demo “Mystery” was a success for the band, the German press calling it the best demo of the year. In the same year the band started recording their first album Product of Imagination,[2] which contained 10 songs and lasted 40 minutes. It was a success in Germany, with the music magazine Metal Hammer recognising it as the best German debut after Walls of Jericho by Helloween.

A year before releasing their second album, Roland Stahl left the band to be replaced by Matthias ‘Kater’ Schmitt. Shortly afterwards Spyth Markus also decided to leave the band and was replaced by Dieter Roth. In November 1989, Paradox released their second album Heresy.[2] The international acclaim received by the album helped to bring a worldwide fanbase to Paradox. In 1990, Markus Spyth was replaced by Kai Pasemann. From this year on, the band remained on hold for personal reasons of the members, and continuing line-up changes did not help their activity.

The band was inactive for almost ten years. In 1998, Charly Steinhauer had plans to reform Paradox. The new line-up featured Kai Pasemann on guitar and brothers Oliver and Alex Holzwarth on bass and drums respectively. In May 2000, Paradox signed with AFM Records and released their third album Collision Course. Once again the album received positive reviews. After this album the band again went on hiatus, this time because Charly Steinhauer contracted a serious intestinal disease. In September 2005, Steinhauer again reassembled the band with Roland Jahoda on drums and Olly Keller on bass.

In January 2008, Paradox released their fourth album, Electrify, which became a success especially in Japan.

In October 2009, the band released its fifth album, Riot Squad, the album’s main themes concerning the problems and violence present in civilization. The artwork was designed by Italian artist / Chile Claudio Bergamin who had also created the artwork for Electrify. On December 14, 2012, they released Tales of the Weird.

In late 2013, Paradox began working on their seventh album,[3] which was said to be a concept album and a sequel to the band’s 1989 album Heresy.[4] However, the band stated on their Facebook page that their new album was not going to be called Heresy II;[5] instead it was titled Pangea. Slovenian bass player Tilen Hudrap joined the band in 2015 and recorded the bass for Pangea. The album was released on June 3, 2016, and received great reviews all over the world.[6]

Paradox’s eighth studio album, and the long-awaited sequel to Heresy, titled Heresy II – End of a Legend, will be released on September 24, 2021.[7]


Demo #1Demo1986 
Product of ImaginationFull-length1987
Collision CourseFull-length2000
Riot SquadFull-length2009
Tales of the WeirdFull-length2012
The Demo Collection 1986-1987Compilation2014 
Priestly VowsSingle2021 
Heresy II – End of a LegendFull-length2021
Axel Blaha
Drums (1986-1991, 2016-present)
See also: ex-Maniac, ex-Overkill, ex-Poison, ex-Warhead
Charly Steinhauer
Vocals, Guitars (1986-1991, 1998-present)
See also: Exorchrist, Brutal Godz, ex-Brain Damage, ex-Maniac, ex-Overkill, ex-Poison, ex-Warhead
Olly Keller
Bass (2007-2011, 2012-2013, 2014-2015, 2020-present)
Christian Münzner
Guitars (lead) (2012-2014, 2020-present)
See also: AlkaloidChristian MuenznerEternity’s EndObscuraSerious Black (live), Starchild (live), ex-Daemon’s Gate, ex-Märchenwald, ex-Spawn of Possession, ex-Defeated Sanity, ex-Majesty, ex-Nader Sadek (live), ex-Nightrage (live), ex-Stormwarrior (live), ex-The New Black (live), ex-Civilization One, ex-Hatred, ex-Necrophagist, ex-Metalforce

Past Members:

Achim Hömerlein “Daxx”Guitars
See also: Brain DamageExorchrist, ex-Vendetta, ex-Poke
Martin BuchmannGuitars
See also: Grand Sermon, ex-Atargatis, ex-Gardens of Gehenna, ex-Human Bloodfeast
Mitch SchmittVocals
See also: Justice, ex-Seldom Refuse, ex-Fair Warning
Günter NiedermeyerVocals
Roland StahlBass (1986-1988, 2016-?)
Markus SpythGuitars (1986-1989, 2016-?)
Jochen GlögglerGuitars (1986)
Matthias “K.ter” Fries (Schmitt)Bass (1989)
Joe DiBiaseBass (1989-1990)
Armin DondererBass (1989-1991, 2002-2004)
See also: ex-Mark Terry, Hartmann, ex-Freedom Call, ex-Arkham
Dieter RothGuitars (1989-1990)
Werner WilzGuitars (1989)
Stefan HallerVocals (1989)
Kai PasemannGuitars, Vocals (backing) (1990-1991, 1998-2010)
See also: Terrible Old Man, Hellride, ex-Cronos Titan
Klaus LohmeyerBass (1991)
See also: ex-Cronos Titan
Udo KleinDrums (1997-1998)
Oliver HolzwarthBass (1998-2002, 2011-?)
See also: AbracadabraColdseedTragul, ex-Sieges Even, ex-Sodom, Brutal Godz, ex-Pergana, ex-Power Quest, ex-Rhapsody of Fire, ex-Blind Guardian (live), ex-Leaves’ Eyes (live), ex-Tarja (live), ex-Chinchilla (live), ex-Demons & Wizards (live), ex-Looking-Glass-Self, ex-Val’Paraiso
Alex HolzwarthDrums (1998-2002, 2011-2012)
See also: AbracadabraDol AmmadTurilli / Lione Rhapsody, ex-Sieges Even, Brutal Godz, ex-Avantasia, ex-Pergana, ex-Rhapsody of Fire, ex-Serious Black, ex-Tragul, ex-Blind Guardian (live), ex-Kamelot (live), ex-Leaves’ Eyes (live), ex-Luca Turilli’s Rhapsody, ex-Looking-Glass-Self, ex-Val’Paraiso
Stefan SchwarzmannDrums (2002-?)
See also: Pänzer, ex-Accept, ex-Helloween, ex-Herman Frank, ex-Krokus, ex-Running Wild, ex-U.D.O., ex-Voice, ex-Cronos Titan, ex-X-Wild, ex-Godiva (live), ex-Born Loosers, ex-Canberra, ex-Die Suicides
Andi SieglBass (2005-2006)
See also: Sacrificed, ex-Black Abyss, ex-My Darkest Hate, ex-Majesty (live), ex-Chinchilla (live), ex-Ear-Shot
Chris WeissDrums (2005-2006)
See also: Runamok, ex-The New Black
Fabian SchwarzGuitars (2005-2006)
See also: RunamokTerrible Old ManThe New BlackVampyromorphaFinal Breath (live), ex-Ritual Spirit, ex-Tyran’ Pace, ex-Consfearacy, ex-Prophesy, Who Brought the Dog, Wild Zombie Blast Guide, ex-Abandoned, ex-Stormwitch, ex-Powerwolf (live), ex-Deranged, ex-Fallen 2 Pieces
Roland JahodaDrums (2007-2010)
See also: ex-Inhuman, ex-Soul Demise
Gus DraxGuitars (2010-2011, 2014-2016)
See also: Black FateGus DraxSuicidal AngelsSunburst, ex-Biomechanical
Daniel BuldDrums (2012-2014)
See also: Septagon, ex-Brain Damage, ex-Terrible Old Man, ex-Hatred, ex-L.O.W.
Tommy Kittsteiner CalvaneseBass (2013-2014)
See also: Trueno, ex-Battlerage, ex-Terreno Hostil, ex-Khan
Kostas MilonasDrums (2014-2016)
See also: A-I-E-ABraverideForay Between OceanMajor DenialSunburstNight Shadows (live), ex-Outloud
Tilen HudrapBass (2015-2020)
See also: ThrawU.D.O.KellerWartune, Scepsis, James Rivera’s SJS (live), ex-Pestilence, ex-Vicious Rumors, ex-Testament (live)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s