The Vintage Caravan: Monuments-2021.

The Vintage Caravan are a rock band from ÁlftanesIceland. The band was formed in 2006 by Óskar Logi Ágústsson and Guðjón Reynisson before bassist Alexander Örn Númason joined after the first studio album. There has been just one line-up change since the founding of the band when Stefán Ari Stefánsson replaced Guðjón Reynisson on drums in 2015. The band have released three studio albums.

In 2006, 12 year-old school friends Óskar Logi Ágústsson (guitar and vocals) and Guðjón Reynisson (drums) formed the band. Serious work only began in 2009 and within two years the band self-published their eponymous first album.

In early 2012, the band signed a deal with Icelandic record label Sena ahead of work for their second album. Alexander Örn Númason joined shortly after on bass. A second album Voyage was released in 2012 initially by Sena. The band signed to Nuclear Blast shortly after the release of Voyage. This led to a Expand Your Mind music video produced and released by the German record label. The short film shows the psychedelic ‘trips’ the three members experience. As of July 2015, the video reached 400,000 hits on YouTube becoming the most viewed online song by the band. Nuclear Blast re-released Voyage to a much wider audience.[2]

2014 saw the band playing at festivals such as Roadburn FestivalWacken Open Air and Hard Rock Hell.

In April 2015, the band announced on Facebook that drummer Guðjón Reynisson had left the band for personal reasons however still remained good friends with the remaining band members. In the same post, Stefán Ari was introduced to fans as the new drummer of the band. On the 15th May 2015, Arrival was released with Nuclear Blast as the band’s third studio album. This was the first record since the recent line-up change.

Personal life

In many interviews, the band have confirmed they are good friends with fellow Nuclear Blast counterparts Blues Pills.[3]

In 2014 following a tour of Europe, the band moved from ReykjavíkIceland to SønderborgDenmark. The band’s new location is near to the border of Germany, where their record label Nuclear Blast is based.[4]


  • The Vintage Caravan (2011) (self-released)
  • Voyage (2014) (Sena)
  • Arrival (2015) (Nuclear Blast)
  • Gateways (2018) (Nuclear Blast)
  • Monuments (2021) (Napalm Records)
Óskar Logi Ágústsson – guitars, lead vocals (2006–present)
Alexander Örn Númason – bass, backing vocals (2012–present)
Stefán Ari Stefánsson – drums (2015–present)

Past Members:

Guðjón Reynisson – drums (2006–2015)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s