Hypocrisy: The Final Chapter-1997.

Hypocrisy is a Swedish death metal[1] band formed in October 1991[2] in Ludvika, Sweden by Peter Tägtgren.

Musically, the band started off with a traditional death metal sound on their early albums, but soon turned into a melodic death metal band.[3][4] Their early lyrics – written by original vocalist Masse Broberg – dealt with anti-Christian themes and Satanism. However, the band later chose to focus on themes such as the paranormal and extraterrestrials. Contrary to what some might believe, Magnus did not leave because of a shift in lyrical content, but because of a cracked eardrum during their 1st European tour (he later went on to black metal band Dark Funeral as Emperor Magus Caligula). Their tenth album, Virus, contains themes more typical of death metal such as violence, the horrors of reality, insanity, torture, war, drug addiction, and emotional strife. Their twelfth album titled End of Disclosure deals with conspiracy and anti-Illuminati themes.

After spending three years in Fort Lauderdale, Florida,[5] in 1990, founder Peter Tägtgren returned to his homeland of Sweden, to form his own band. Hypocrisy’s early releases were noted as being well-executed death metal, but panned for not being particularly innovative. That criticism waned as the band matured, cultivating a more distinctive sound as well as employing an introspective lyrical approach. Later releases have a more atmospheric sound, with lyrical exploration of aliens and abduction experiences.

Tägtgren’s experience as a producer may have also have led to the band’s change in musical direction, as he is more closely involved with many other bands while producing their albums.

On November 17, 2009, Hypocrisy cancelled their U.S. tour. After cancelling earlier in 2009, Hypocrisy confirmed a North American tour for 2010. Joining Hypocrisy on the “Long Time, No Death” tour were Scar SymmetryHateBlackguard and Swashbuckle. From January to March 2010, they toured Germany, Eastern Europe and Scandinavia, finishing in Moscow. Their North American tour took place in May 2010.

On October 14, 2011, Hypocrisy released a DVD called Hell Over Sofia – 20 Years of Chaos and Confusion. It contains a full concert from the “Long Time, No Death” tour. The DVD also contains a one and a half hour documentary about the band.[6] On November 10, 2011, Mikael Hedlund announced writing material for a new studio album during an interview with Metal Shock Finland‘s Chief Editor, Mohsen Fayyazi. Mikael tells Metal Shock Finland:

It’s too early to say what it’s going to sounds like, but all I can say is that it’s not gonna be any change of style. It will be a classic HYPOCRISY album without [any] compromises. We already got some material and we’re really looking forward to enter the studio again. We don’t know yet when it will [be], but hopefully after the summer 2012. Nothing is confirmed yet. We’re doing the Metalfest tour [of Europe] in May/June plus some other festivals. That’s the plans at the moment.


In early 2012 the band began to write new material for a follow up to A Taste of Extreme Divinity. On December 21, 2012 Hypocrisy announced that the title of the upcoming album would be End of Disclosure.[10] It was released on March 22, 2013.


Rest in PainDemo1992
Promo EP ISplit1992 
Pleasure of MolestationEP1993
Osculum ObscenumFull-length1993
Inferior DevotiesEP1994
The Fourth DimensionFull-length1994
Carved UpSingle1995
Roswell 47 / Future Breed MachineSplit1996
Pleasure of Molestation / Maximum AbductionCompilation1996 
Maximum AbductionEP1996
The Final ChapterFull-length1997
Hypocrisy Destroys WackenLive album1999
Hypocrisy Destroys WackenVideo1999 
Into the AbyssFull-length2000
Live & ClipsVideo2001
Nuclear Blast Festivals 2000Split2001
Nuclear Blast Festivals 2000Split video2001 
10 Years of Chaos and ConfusionCompilation2001
Catch 22Full-length2002
Hypocrisy / Kataklysm / Disbelief ‎Split2003 
The ArrivalFull-length2004
Shovel Headed Killing Machine / VirusSplit2005 
The Neckbreakers BallSplit2006 
The Final Chapter / HypocrisyCompilation2007 
Catch 22 V2.0.08Full-length2008 
Don’t Judge MeSingle2008
A Taste of Extreme DivinityFull-length2009
Valley of the Damned / Hordes of WarSplit2009
Hell over Sofia – 20 Years of Chaos and ConfusionLive album2011
Beast of HypocrisyCompilation2012 
End of DisclosureSingle2013 
End of DisclosureFull-length2013
Party.San Metal Open Air – Hell Is Here-SamplerSplit2013 
Penetralia / Osculum ObscenumBoxed set2013 
Too Drunk to FuckEP2013 
Peter Tägtgren
Guitars, Keyboards (1991-present), Vocals (1993-present)
See also: Pain, ex-The Abyss, ex-Bloodbath, ex-Lock Up, ex-Malevolent Creation (live), ex-Marduk (live), ex-War, ex-Conquest, ex-Lindemann, ex-Roadhouse Diet, ex-Seditious, ex-E-Type (live)
Mikael Hedlund
Bass (1992-present)
See also: ex-The Abyss, ex-Repugnance, ex-War
Drums (2004-present)
See also: ex-Heavy DutyImmortal, ex-Grimfist, ex-Pain (live), ex-Lost at Last

Past Members:

Lars SzökeDrums (1992-2004)
See also: ex-Epitaph, ex-The Abyss, ex-War
Jonas ÖsterbergGuitars (1992)
See also: ex-Epitaph
Masse BrobergVocals (1992-1993)
See also: ex-Dominion Caligula, ex-God Among Insects, ex-Obscurity, ex-Dark Funeral, ex-Demonoid, ex-Witchery, ex-Votary
Andreas HolmaGuitars (2004-2006)
See also: The Road, ex-Scar Symmetry, ex-Pain (live), ex-Soilwork (live), ex-Road to Jerusalem

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s