Hexx: Entangled In Sin-2020.

The San Francisco Bay Area based Power/Thrash Metal band HEXX was formed in 1983, and released its debut album, “No Escape”, on Mike Varney’s Shrapnel Records label in 1984. Since then the group has been through several lineup changes and musical style variations. The first lineup for the “No Escape” album was: Dennis Manzo (vocals), Dan Watson (guitars), Bill Peterson (bass) and Dave Schmidt (drums). The group’s second effort, “Under The Spell”, was released in 1986 once again on the Shrapnel label, and with European distribution support from Roadrunner Records. For this album Dennis Manzo was replaced by Dan Bryant on vocals, and Clint Bower was added on rhythm guitar. The musical style for this album was still very much Power Metal, but with a hint of the Speed and Thrash influence that would define the band’s subsequent musical style and direction.

By 1988 HEXX recorded the “Help Your Self” demo demonstrating a shift away from traditional Power Metal to the Speed/Thrash style that was taking over the Bay Area musical landscape at the time. Clint Bower took over on vocals, and Dave Schmidt was replaced by drummer John Shafer. England’s Music For Nations label signed the band and released the “Quest For Sanity” EP in Europe. This album was released in the United States the following year by Wild Rags Records. In 1990 HEXX released a single on the Wild Rags label called “Watery Graves” which included two Speed/Thrash bonus track versions of “Under The Spell” and “Edge Of Death” from their 1986 “Under The Spell” album.

In 1992 HEXX signed with Century Media Records and released their most technical and speed driven album to date, “Morbid Reality”. A year or so after this release the group disbanded and lay dormant until spring of 2013, when founding members Dan Watson and Bill Peterson reformed with original “No Escape” vocalist Dennis Manzo, and new drummer Gary Gutfeld, to perform at the Keep It True Festival in Germany in 2014. The reformed HEXX recorded the “Up From The Grave” demo that is in the similar Power Metal style of their first two albums. Due to Bill Peterson’s mounting health issues he was replaced by bassist Mike Horn just prior to the bands performance at the Keep it True festival.Mike Horn remains as the bands bass player to this day.
After returning home from performing at the Keep It True Festival in Germany, history seemed to repeat itself, and Dennis Manzo was once again replaced by Dan Bryant on vocals, and Gary Gutfield was replaced by original member John Shafer on drums. This line up recorded two new songs, “Burn Or Boil” and “Swimming The Witch”, and in July of 2015 performed at the Headbangers Open Air festival in Germany. A new deal was signed with Metal Blade Records to re-release both “Under The Spell” and “No Escape”. “Quest For Sanity” and “Watery Graves” are being re-released on Vic Records, and “Morbid Reality” is being reissued by Dark Symphonies Records. Dan Bryant has recently been replaced by new vocalist Eddy Vega, and Bob Wright from BROCAS HELM has signed on to share guitar duties with Dan Watson.

Discography :

Paradox DemoDemo1983 
No EscapeFull-length1984
Demo 1984Demo1984 
Under the Spell DemoDemo1985 
Under the SpellFull-length1986
Help Your Self demo 7, ’87Demo1987 
Quest for SanityEP1989
Watery GravesEP1990
Morbid RealityFull-length1991
Up from the GravesDemo2013 
Tyrants of Steel Vol.1Split2016 
Wrath of the ReaperFull-length2017
Quest for Sanity / Watery GravesCompilation2018 
Night of Pain / TerrorSingle2020 
Entangled in SinFull-length2020
Dan Watson
Guitars (1983-1995, 2013-present)
See also: ex-American Standard, ex-Paradox
John Shafer
Drums (1986-1995, 2014-present)
See also: ex-Funeral, Necrosic
Bobbie Wright
Guitars (2015-present)
See also: Brocas Helm, ex-Prisoner
Eddy Vega
Vocals (2015-present)
See also: Rage of War
Don Wood
Bass (2018-present)

Past Members:

Bill PetersonBass (1983-1995, 2013-2014)
(R.I.P. 2019) See also: ex-American Standard, ex-Paradox
Dave SchmidtDrums (1983-1986)
See also: ex-Paradox
Dennis ManzoVocals (1983-1985, 2013-2014)
See also: ex-Wraith
Clint BowerGuitars (1984-1995), Vocals (1987-1995)
See also: ex-The Ravenous, ex-Abscess, ex-Eat My Fuk, ex-Mirror Snake
Dan BryantVocals (1985-1986, 2014-2015)
See also: The Road Vikings, ex-Hell ‘n’ Back, ex-Cacophony (live)
Mike HornBass (2013-2018)
Gary GutfieldDrums (2013-2014)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s