Cattle Decapitation: The Anthropocene Extinction-2015.

Founded in 1996, Cattle Decapitation’s songs protest the mistreatment and consumption of animals, the abuse of the environment and touch subjects such as misanthropy and genocide of the human race. Much of the band’s music is based on putting humans in the situations that animals are subjected to, for example animal testing, slaughter, etc. While the band started with an entirely vegetarian lineup, only two current members are vegetarian, namely Travis Ryan and Josh Elmore.[6][7]

The 2002 album To Serve Man saw controversy in Germany, where distribution company SPV refused to handle the album due to its graphic cover.[8] The cover of the 2004 album Humanure, featuring a cow excreting human remains, was reportedly censored without permission from the label in some outlets. Record store owners did not display the album, making it difficult for customers to find and buy it.[9]Dave McGraw in 2018

Former member Gabe Serbian is a member of the band The Locust.[10] Metal author and journalist Garry Sharpe-Young once acknowledged the band as “one of the few metal bands whose message hits as hard as their music”.[8] In August 2009, Cattle Decapitation parted ways with long-time bassist Troy Oftedal because of “musical and personal differences”.[11] Cattle Decapitation’s album Monolith of Inhumanity was released in 2012. It received positive reviews upon release.[12][13]Travis Ryan in 2018

Cattle Decapitation has toured with extreme metal acts including SuffocationCryptopsyThe Black Dahlia MurderDeicideBehemothHate EternalKrisiun and Job for a Cowboy.[14] The band also participated in Metal Blade Record’s Scion A/V Showcase in late 2012.[15]

The band spent the majority of 2014 writing a new record.[16] The tracking for the album was announced to have been completed on February 14, 2015. On May 20, 2015, Cattle Decapitation announced the title of the new record was The Anthropocene Extinction. Alongside this announcement the band released the first song of the record, titled “Manufactured Extinct”.[17] It was released through Metal Blade Records on August 7, 2015.[18]

On April 30, 2018, two Native American teens were pulled out of a Colorado State University tour by the police for being “too quiet’ and wearing “dark clothing.”[19] When the band found out that one of the brothers was wearing Cattle Decapitation T-shirts, they offered the brothers “free guest list spots for life.”[20][21]

In August 2018, the band announced the addition of Cryptopsy bass player Olivier Pinard, as well as the promotion of touring rhythm guitarist Belisario Dimuzio to being a full time member,[22] thus making the group a five piece for the first time. The recording of the seventh studio album Death Atlas began in May 2019, and was released November 2019.[23]

Travis Ryan
Vocals (1997-present)
See also: Defixion (live), ex-5/5/2000, ex-Strangulation, ex-Murder Construct, Anal Trump, ex-Nader Sadek, ex-Anal Flatulence, ex-Lávese las manos, ex-Rubbr Cmnt, ex-Shaftmouth, ex-Stigmata, ex-The Graveyard Whispers, ex-The Mono Source, ex-UUM
Josh Elmore
Guitars (lead) (2001-present)
See also: ex-7000 Dying Rats, ex-My Lai
David McGraw
Drums (2007-present)
See also: ex-Fused, ex-Sleep Terror (live), ex-Collapse
Olivier Pinard
Bass (2018-present)
See also: AkurionCryptopsyVengefulUnder the Grave (live), Neuraxis, Obvurt, ex-Solium Fatalis
Belisario Dimuzio
Guitars (rhythm) (2018-present)
See also: Eukaryst

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s